• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Stormscape

Stormscape

Master Director

• Members
  • 262 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 02:48 AM

In the publisher's view, under the System codec tab, the familiar list of codecs is there, all except Uncompressed.

Why? The feature is pretty much useless without that option. All other default system codecs render videos with abominable quality.

Why the heck isn't the Uncompressed option present?

I've been using moviestorm for many months now, and I really want to start using it, and it is immeasurably frustrating not to be able to get anything out of moviestorm.

#2 steelblade

steelblade

Master Director

• Pioneers
  • 728 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 04:51 PM

QUOTE (Stormscape @ Jul 21 2009, 02:48 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
In the publisher's view, under the System codec tab, the familiar list of codecs is there, all except Uncompressed.

Why? The feature is pretty much useless without that option. All other default system codecs render videos with abominable quality.

Why the heck isn't the Uncompressed option present?

I've been using moviestorm for many months now, and I really want to start using it, and it is immeasurably frustrating not to be able to get anything out of moviestorm.

Because for uncompressed the rendered file is blessed HUGE! Circus Machinima at 11 minutes came to 80 Gigs, uncompressed. That's about 7.25 gigs a minute (your mileage may vary). My 500 Gig HD gagged on the file till I made it into an MP4 to keep the size down.

#3 BA

BA

Master Director

• Pioneers
  • 455 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:23 PM

I render to huffy before importing the clips into Vegas, its not completely uncompressed but it is great for a master, the file sizes are very large coming in at about 1 gig for 30 seconds.

If your system codecs are rendering at a terrible quality that sounds like a different problem, have you installed K-Lite codec pack ?