• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sapphire

Sapphire

Moviegoer

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 February 2008 - 08:02 AM

I'm just " blue-skying" here - and I am NOT a programmer, but I have always been impressed with the huge range of Poser models , props and costumes.

Has anyone given any thought to inporting Poser files... personally I don;t even know if it's possible - just thought I'd ask.....

#2 Spong3y

Spong3y

Master Director

• Pioneers
  • 493 posts

Posted 23 February 2008 - 08:51 AM

Actually, with the absence of the Modder's Workshop we are not able to import 3D models from any 3D modeling software. Guess we'll just have to wait until MW arrives.
[witty signature pending]

#3 equinoxx

equinoxx

Master Director

• Pioneers
  • 916 posts

Posted 23 February 2008 - 09:15 AM

Pretty much all Poser content is comprised of standard Wavefront .obj models, and one user here, nb99, is developing an app that will convert .obj models (among other formats) to the Collada format that Moviestorm uses. It works pretty well (so far) on static props. Characters and clothing, however, have complex skeletal rigs for animation, which isn't supported (not yet, at least).

The real issue, however, is that most Poser content features highly detailed surface geometry, which results in very high polygon counts on the models, and seriously bogs down a system, to the point that it can take many minutes -- or even hours -- to render a single frame of an animation. Moviestorm aims to be more of a real-time system (although very complex scenes can result in a slow framerate, it's on the order of seconds per frame, not minutes or hours).
David "equinoxx" Anderson
http://www.veoh.com/...els/equinoxxent

#4 moogaloonie

moogaloonie

Moviegoer

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 09:24 AM