Reply to this topicStart new topic
No lips movements on MS 1.5
 
jeremie
post Dec 31 2011, 2:12 PM
Post #1


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



Does anyone aware of that problem on 1.5 ?

It used to work fine on the previous version.

I tried to record from the built-in mic of my laptop and to import a wav 16bit sound file recorded with audacity but nothing hapen at all.

The sound playing correctly, the dialoges appear in the timeline and the lips are still not moving.

I' m under win7. Everything else working fine.

I' ve read a few posts on this issue and I can' t figure out what am I doing wrong.

Any ideas ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nahton
post Dec 31 2011, 2:29 PM
Post #2


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 867
Joined: 25-January 07
Member No.: 118



QUOTE (jeremie @ Dec 31 2011, 09:12 AM) *
Does anyone aware of that problem on 1.5 ?

It used to work fine on the previous version.

I tried to record from the built-in mic of my laptop and to import a wav 16bit sound file recorded with audacity but nothing hapen at all.

The sound playing correctly, the dialoges appear in the timeline and the lips are still not moving.

I' m under win7. Everything else working fine.

I' ve read a few posts on this issue and I can' t figure out what am I doing wrong.

Any ideas ?

I've only had this happen on 1.4 on random lines and I have found that typing the dialogue in sometimes remedy's the problem for all instances.

Have you tried duplicating this problem after a shutdown and restart of Moviestorm?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Dec 31 2011, 2:46 PM
Post #3


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



QUOTE (Nahton @ Dec 31 2011, 02:29 PM) *
I've only had this happen on 1.4 on random lines and I have found that typing the dialogue in sometimes remedy's the problem for all instances.

Have you tried duplicating this problem after a shutdown and restart of Moviestorm?


Thanks for the quik reply.

I did type the dialogue, I restarted several times and try diferents characters on new empty sets.

Is there any option in the preferencies or elsewhere that might disable the lips movement ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daveek
post Dec 31 2011, 3:46 PM
Post #4


Director


Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 20-December 08
Member No.: 3,634



It may sound daft, but you are 100% sure the sound file is WAV and not mp3 or some other format ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Dec 31 2011, 4:32 PM
Post #5


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



QUOTE (daveek @ Dec 31 2011, 03:46 PM) *
It may sound daft, but you are 100% sure the sound file is WAV and not mp3 or some other format ?



WAV without a doubt.

It makes no sense to me.

I just tried to redo a dialogue from a starter movie. The lips sync still matches the old lines, although in the timeline the dialogue bar is twice as long as before.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Dec 31 2011, 4:59 PM
Post #6


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,652
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



It might be useful for us to have a copy of the problematic wav file - sometimes it is easiest to work out what is going wrong when we can reproduce the problem.

Note: Probably wont get much attention till next week due to the new year.


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Dec 31 2011, 9:05 PM
Post #7


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



QUOTE (Ben_S @ Dec 31 2011, 04:59 PM) *
It might be useful for us to have a copy of the problematic wav file - sometimes it is easiest to work out what is going wrong when we can reproduce the problem.

Note: Probably wont get much attention till next week due to the new year.


All right, I'm gonna try again and i'll come back to you in a few days with wav files if needed.

Thank you for your time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
primaveranz
post Dec 31 2011, 9:25 PM
Post #8


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 4,707
Joined: 28-August 08
Member No.: 2,534



Also make sure it is a mono file and not a stereo one.


--------------------
"I have had the same problem with getting the wheels to rotate properly with animated cars. They have to be all the same size and round and that helps a bit." America's Top Modder.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Jan 9 2012, 3:32 PM
Post #9


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



Well, i tried to reinstall. That solved an issue i had with head nodding movements and also a costume bug but the characters' lips are still not moving.

So to summarise : I' m sure I' m using WAV mono files when importing. I also tried to record from MS and to synthesise a text. I tried differents sets as well as sarter movies and new ones. Therefore I don't thing I'm doing anything wrong here.

I' m really stuck at that point, and asking for any help once again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Jan 9 2012, 3:56 PM
Post #10


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,652
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



Please could you make a very simple movie to demonstrate the problem.

Start a new movie
Add the default character, and place him on set
Click on him and select 'say' then type in a short line, eg 'hello world' and click the text to speech button.
Click the tick, and see if his lips move
Save the movie

If they dont move, find the log.txt for me.
This is created in the Moviestorm user folder. It is emptied each time you start Moviestorm. It's in:
Vista, Win7, Macs: Users/[Username]/Moviestorm

Zip up the folder with the name for your movie that can be found in:
Vista, Win7, Macs: Users/[Username]/Moviestorm/Movies

And attach that, and the log.txt to a reply post.


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Jan 9 2012, 5:10 PM
Post #11


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



Attached File  LOG.txt ( 10.25K ) Number of downloads: 2

Attached File  test_lips.zip ( 128.2K ) Number of downloads: 3


Here you go.

Still not working for me.

Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Jan 9 2012, 6:05 PM
Post #12


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,652
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



Well, the log says
CODE
Audio resource: C:\Users\Jérémie\Moviestorm\.cache\current movie\Dialogue\tts-760146289.wav 3d=false
Failed to lip sync in Say: java.lang.RuntimeException: Failed to create observation stream: A required file could not be found.

Now we just need to work out what it means. Will have more of a look at this tomorrow. Your example generates lip syncing when i use it on my computer, so either there is something different about your computer, or about your installation.

Please could you provide us with a dxdiag.txt so that we know more about your system specs.
WinXP: Start->Run, then type dxdiag
Vista, Win7: Start, then type dxdiag in the search
Once DirectX Diagnostics has started, click 'Save all Information' and save out the dxdiag.txt


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Jan 9 2012, 6:11 PM
Post #13


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,652
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



Just looking at that error message, I think the problem is caused by our lipsync module not being able to handle the "é"'s in your windows username.

I think you need to keep your Moviestorm files somewhere else. What you can do is:
Copy your Moviestorm folder from your user directory "C:\Users\Jérémie\Moviestorm" to somewhere else, eg "C:/Moviestorm"
Then run the following command from a command prompt to set an environment variable to tell Moviestorm to look for your user folder in the new location.

setx MOVIESTORM_PROFILE C:\Moviestorm


I think the lip sync will then work - but if you need to access your saved movies or logs, you would need to go to the new location instead.


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeremie
post Jan 9 2012, 7:41 PM
Post #14


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 4-February 11
Member No.: 13,371



Problem seams to be solved.

Good idea, that did the trick.

Thanks a lot again.

And good work on that 1.5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corthew
post Jan 9 2012, 10:50 PM
Post #15


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 2,353
Joined: 6-November 10
Member No.: 11,729



QUOTE (Ben_S @ Jan 9 2012, 02:11 PM) *
Just looking at that error message, I think the problem is caused by our lipsync module not being able to handle the "é"'s in your windows username.


I thought you were messing with him at first which would have been out of character for you but still...smile.gif

I was waiting for you to suggest he remove his hard drive and tap it lightly on the edges with a hammer to realign the magnetic field.smile.gif

Then I noticed that the "e" in his name isn't really an e.

I didn't know you could have characters outside the standard ascii set in your file/folder names.



--------------------
Sango: "If it was really a miracle everyone would have been saved."

Vargas: "But if everyone was saved how would anyone know it was a miracle."

Sango and Vargas arguing over the implications of one person surviving an unexpectedly active tidal season.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
boxrocks
post Jan 9 2012, 10:57 PM
Post #16


Director


Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 24-August 10
Member No.: 10,704



QUOTE (jeremie @ Dec 31 2011, 02:12 PM) *
Does anyone aware of that problem on 1.5 ?

It used to work fine on the previous version.

I tried to record from the built-in mic of my laptop and to import a wav 16bit sound file recorded with audacity but nothing hapen at all.

The sound playing correctly, the dialoges appear in the timeline and the lips are still not moving.

I' m under win7. Everything else working fine.

I' ve read a few posts on this issue and I can' t figure out what am I doing wrong.

Any ideas ?


Lip movement never happens in 1.5 for me, I have to type it in which is terrible with long lines.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Jan 10 2012, 10:29 AM
Post #17


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,652
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (corthew @ Jan 9 2012, 10:50 PM) *
I didn't know you could have characters outside the standard ascii set in your file/folder names.


Aparently the person who wrote our lipsync dll didnt know either.


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: