Reply to this topicStart new topic
Cannot install latest version, Installation problems
 
pjonesdotca
post Feb 11 2012, 1:44 PM
Post #1


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-February 12
Member No.: 25,811



The BASE content part 1 fails to install and gives me a socket read error.
I have no problems installing the application itself - it's just that for the last three days I get the same error trying to load the content.

Is there a way of sideloading it? This is frustrating.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corthew
post Feb 11 2012, 2:13 PM
Post #2


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 2,329
Joined: 6-November 10
Member No.: 11,729



Sometimes antivirus software can be overprotective of changes to your directory structure. I think MS fixed that issue but it may be worth trying the install with your AV software disabled for a few minutes.

Alternately you can try downloading the content and installing manually but I'm not sure how you do that with the base pack. Someone else should be able to help you there though if needed.


--------------------
Sango: "If it was really a miracle everyone would have been saved."

Vargas: "But if everyone was saved how would anyone know it was a miracle."

Sango and Vargas arguing over the implications of one person surviving an unexpectedly active tidal season.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pjonesdotca
post Feb 11 2012, 3:01 PM
Post #3


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-February 12
Member No.: 25,811



Well, I saw that the first set seemed to have failed so it's now downloading BASE 1 of 2.
This is kind of a less than ideal way of installing software though.
I understand for issues of DRM and "piracy" but, it leads to problem like this.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  install_problem.png ( 166.26K ) Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pjonesdotca
post Feb 11 2012, 5:15 PM
Post #4


Moviegoer


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-February 12
Member No.: 25,811



I manged to get a print screen of what it's showing.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  install_problem.png ( 166.26K ) Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post Feb 13 2012, 11:17 AM
Post #5


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,622
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



It should be trying to download files in a similar way to a web browser (using http protocols); it is worth checking if you have a firewall that could be blocking it (either Moviestorm or javaw).

When Moviestorm fails to download a file, the filename is put in the boot.log; you could download it manually and put it in the 'downloads' folder in your moviestorm installation. There are quite a few content packs to install, though, during the normal download process.

boot.log
This is created in the Moviestorm user folder. It is emptied each time you start Moviestorm, so please reproduce the problem first. It's in:
Vista, Win7, Macs: Users/[Username]/Moviestorm
WinXP: C:/Documents and Settings/[Username]/Moviestorm


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: