Reply to this topicStart new topic
I want to have shadows on my terrain -- how?
 
ArthurVKuhrmeier
post May 3 2012, 6:33 PM
Post #1


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 492
Joined: 20-March 11
Member No.: 14,616



Hello ladies, hi guys,

I enjoy the new terrain massively. There's just one thing that bothers me: The terrain shows no shadow!!! That's look pretty silly if you have a prop that drops a shadow half on the grid and half it disappears.

Now, I figured out that the movie.mscope file has an entry for the terrain:

CODE
            <flags>
              <string>TEXGEN</string>
              <string>DONT_CAST_SHADOWS</string>
              <string>DONT_SHOW_SHADOWS</string>
            </flags>


Great, I thought. I simply removed the two "SHADOW"-lines. But after reloading the movie, Moviestorm "repaired" the do-not-bother-me-with-shadows-lines. sad.gif

Has anyone tried to enable the shadows on the terrain successfully? Is there a hack or work-around to do so?

Thanks, Arthur smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lucindamc123
post May 3 2012, 7:31 PM
Post #2


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 9,170
Joined: 22-April 07
Member No.: 341



Well I hide the Moviestorm terrain and make my own and then make sure they show shadows and that works fine. I usually make flat terrains with photographs, aerial ones, if I can find them. So they are not too hi poly that way.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben_S
post May 4 2012, 9:18 AM
Post #3


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 4,620
Joined: 18-January 07
Member No.: 116



I am not aware of a way to make it show shadows. As I understand it, it uses very different shaders to the rest of Moviestorm, and they may be written in a way that doesn't account for shadows.


--------------------
Ben Sanders
Moviestorm Ltd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArthurVKuhrmeier
post May 4 2012, 10:41 PM
Post #4


Master Director
Group Icon

Group: Pioneers
Posts: 492
Joined: 20-March 11
Member No.: 14,616



Thanks Lucinda,

I know you do wink.gif but the terrain editor is really cool and offers great features I'd love to use - and I don't have to make an addon.


Thanks to you too, Ben,

I was wondering if there is a chance (a hack) preventing Moviestorm from "repairing" these two SHADOW-lines. That way I could at least try and see if the terrain showed any shadows. I checked all the files, but couldn't find anything. So I guess it's within the Moviestorm code.

I really, really want to figure this out because if we succeed we could build terrific sets with the terrain editor.

Thanks :-)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: